Carbo Loading

The day before a long run I try to have  a larger meal in the late afternoon full of carbs.  I have found a simple pasta meal helps fuel me for the run and keeps my tum-tum settled (i.e. no horrible digestion problems while running).

A few days ago HEAB posted her review of a simple homemade marinara sauce – since I was carbo-loading, I decided to take my first stab at a homemade sauce today.

Smitten Kitchen’s Tomato Sauce recipe is quite possibly the best marinara sauce I have ever had.  It is so simple but incredibly smooth, velvety, and rich.

There are three ingredients:

  • One 28 ounce can of whole peeled tomatoes
  • One yellow onion (I only had red) cut in half (or quarters like I did)
  • 5 tablespoons of butter

Add the tomatoes, onion, and butter to a pot (I used 3 quart pot).  I also added 4 peeled cloves of garlic.  Bring the ingredients to a boil on medium heat, and then reduce the heat to low and simmer for 45 minutes.

Oye! Mama Mia!  If I can avoid it, I do not plan to use bottled marinara sauce again!

I prepared some whole wheat pasta while the sauce simmered and a simple salad of spinach, cucumber, walnuts, lemon juice, EVOO, and S&P.

I had this plate plus another serving of pasta.  A few hours later I had a light salad and a brownie (sorry no pictures).  Now, I’m off to bed.

2 responses to “Carbo Loading

  1. I love the photo with the red onions. So much color. Wasn’t the sauce amazing? I’ll have to try it with garlic next time.

    Best of luck on your long run tomorrow. :)

    • The sauce was so amazing. I can’t believe how simple it was to make. Run was a major challenge this morning – but I did it and are still able to walk after! Thanks Heather!

Leave a Reply

