The Battle of Utkatasana

After a week of little physical activity, my body was yearning for some movement today.  My legs are finally feeling pretty good – so I headed to Breathe for a yoga class with Lindsey.  The class was packed and hot! The studio is already heated to 90 degrees but with 25 practitioners in the room, it must have heated up another 10 degrees.

Lindsey is known for her sadistic love of hip and thigh intensive vinyasas – I knew I was probably getting in over my head.  I actually felt great for most of the class – a few times my quads just couldn’t hold a pose any longer so I had to release it.  In one memorable sequence, we went into Utkatasana (chair pose), twist chair pose to the right, center, then twist to the right again but raise arms to your shoulder level, then center, and repeat again on the left side.  Then we repeated this entire sequence 3 more times.  YIKES!  My quads were burning by the end of the second time.  I had to let my ego go and just did a forward bend during the last time.

I was reminded of this quote during class:

“The secret of health for both mind and body is not to mourn for the past, nor to worry about the future, but to live the present moment wisely and earnestly.” – Buddha

Later on after brief nap and some NCAA men’s basketball I made dinner.

Polenta with Spicy Tomato Sauce and Roasted Asparagus

To make the polenta – I followed the directions on Bob’s Red Mill Corn Grits.  Then after letting the polenta sit for 10 minutes, I cut it into serving size portions. I added a little olive oil to a pan and then seared each side for 2 minutes each.  Then put the seared pieces in the oven to keep warm.  Yum Yum Yum.

I made the marinara sauce following Smitten Kitchen’s recipe (Heather turned me on to it).  Honestly, this is the best marinara sauce I had ever had. It only takes 45 minutes – please make it!

I cleaned the asparagus, added some sea salt, pepper, and some olive oil to the stalks. Then roasted in oven on 400 degrees for 15 minutes.

On a somewhat different note – did you anyone watch Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution? What did you think of it? I haven’t been able to watch the full episode yet but I watched the chicken nugget clip – OMG.

5 responses to “The Battle of Utkatasana

  1. Yes, world’s best tomato sauce by far, and I bet it was amazing over polenta. I have never made my own polenta, but I keep seeing it on blogs. Don’t know what I’m waiting for – need to try it!

    Yes, I watched Food Revolution. That scene with the chicken nuggets was so sad…the kids didn’t even recognize a tomato or a potato. I couldn’t believe it. Wait until you see the scene where they give the kids knives in the cafeteria – they have no clue as to how to use them. I was shocked!

    • polenta so easy to make. i found that i like it a bit thicker and frying it in a pan gives it some crispness. I was so shocked with their reaction to the chicken nugget making. It makes me so sad. I’m feeling all the chairs in my quads now :)

  2. P.S. Chair pose – always a killer on the quads. ;)

  3. Chair pose is so hard… especially when it turns into flying eagle!

Leave a Reply

