Vegetable Potpies with Sweet Potato Biscuit Crust

While traveling over the holidays (or being stuck in O’Hare for a few extra hours due to a cancelled flight), I read the December Food & Wine magazine and ran across a recipe for Vegetable Potpies with Sweet Potato Biscuit Crust. First, I am so impressed that mainstream (gourmet) food magazines are starting to incorporate more and more vegetarian recipes into their magazines.  Food & Wine and Bon Appetite each had complete spreads devoted to vegetarian meals in their December issues!

The recipe was fairly easy to follow but was a bit time-consuming, I probably spent 2.5 hours total working on the meal.  I deviated a bit from the recipe – I used brussel sprouts, a parsnip, a turnip, 1/2 chopped onion, 1/2 sweet potato, and two carrots for the veggies.  I didn’t have fresh sage or thyme so I just used dry and estimated on how much to put in.

I spread canola oil (probably 4 tablespoons) over the veggies prior to putting them in the oven

To make the gravy type sauce – I used soy milk and omitted the heavy cream.  The gravy turned out pretty good. I added it to the veggie mixture after the veggies were done roasting.  I didn’t have ramekins to make individual sized portions – so I just used two medium-sized ceramic bowls.

Veggies with gravy

I may have had a few glasses of wine while working on this.  I may have also been convinced to buy this bottle after a few too many samples at the wine shop on Saturday.  This is a great table red wine – light,  has a bit of spice, but not too bold – hence drinking a few glasses this evening…be warned the wine goes down very easy.

Nero D'Avola

I used my food processor to make the dough – added the dry ingredients and then added the wet.  I used soy milk instead of buttermilk.

Dry ingredients for dough in food processor

After dough formed in the processor, I moved it to a floured surface and kneaded it a few times (not really sure what is kneading but I rolled it around a few times and smoothed it out).  Then I rolled it out to about 1/4 inch thick and used my ceramic bowls to cut out crusts for the potpies.

Biscuit crusts cut and waiting to be added to potpies for final baking.

I then added the biscuit crusts on top of the ceramic bowls.  I didn’t have an egg to glaze the top with so I used some oil and then put them into the oven for 15 minutes.

Potpies & Biscuit crusts cooling after baking for 15 minutes

While the potpies were baking I sautéed some baby bok choy.

Washing and prepping bok choy

Olive oil into pan

Bok choy into pan with oil

Bok choy after 5 minutes of sautéing

I may have finished the wine while cooking so for dinner I had to improvise!

This recipe is probably enough to feed 4 people as entrees and 6-8 as a side dish.

BON APPETITE!

Leave a Reply

