Food for the road

Sorry I’ve been MIA the last day. I had to head back to Vermont and go into my company’s headquarters for a meeting.  So in preparation for a six-hour drive and overnight stay – I made some soup for the road.

On Wednesday, I made Rustic Tomato Lentil Soup from How it all Vegan.  I didn’t have much fresh produce – so I used canned tomatoes, carrots, and added green beans.  This soup was rich and hearty.

Use a huge pot when making this soup.  I packed up a few containers of the soup and leftover potpie for the road. Soup might not be the most practical thing to eat on the road but I warmed it up at the office and then again in my hotel room for the night – a great way to eat healthy when not at home.

I got home a few hours ago and wanted something quick and easy – I turned to my go to meal – tofu stir fry with rice.  I used some prepackaged rice and then sautéed tofu, red and green bell peppers, and water chestnuts on the stove – I added cayenne pepper, curry powder, salt & pepper to the tofu and veggies then added the rice to the mixture once it was done simmering.  In 30 minutes the meal was complete!

I enjoyed probably two servings of this and a glass of Louis Martini Cabernet Sauvignon.  Now I’m off to relax and watch the Olympics.

Leave a Reply

