A Fridge Full of Veggies

Last night I discovered a fridge full of veggies on the brink of beginning to go bad – this is a typical find in our home.  More often than I’d like, I hit the grocery store (WEGMANS – woot, woot) without a plan and wing it as I move through the sections – needless to say, I usually over purchase and at the end of the week have plenty of produce that need to be used ASAP.

What’s the perfect way to use up a bunch of veggies without much work?  Well a winter stew of course.

Kristina’s Throw All Veggies in a Stew

Ingredients:

  • Whatever veggies you have in the fridge (probably 2 -3 cups)
  • 1 cup of grains
  • 1/2 cup of beans
  • Oil, Garlic, Onion
  • Tabasco Sauce, Soy Sauce, Worcestershire Sauce, Turmeric, Cumin, and Cayenne Pepper (or improvise), Salt & Pepper
  • 3 – 4 cups of veggie broth

Begin by adding a few tablespoons of oil (I used EVOO) to a large soup pan on medium heat – add a few cloves of garlic minced and 1/2 onion finely chopped.  Saute until onions become translucent. Then add veggies – I used 1 green pepper, 3/4 red pepper, 3 carrots, 2 stalks of celery, and 15 small mushrooms.  Saute until mushrooms become tender.

Next  – add your grain (I used brown basmati rice), your choice of beans (I used garbanzo beans), veggie broth, and seasonings (I approximately added – two tbsp of soy sauce, a strong dash of Tabasco and Worcestershire sauces, and then a big pinch of cumin, turmeric, and the seasoning dry rub). Bring everything to a boil – then lower the heat and simmer.

The length you let the stew simmer is up to the grain you choose.  I added brown basmati rice – so all together I let it simmer for 35 minutes.  At the end, you will have a hearty, delicious stew.  I may not look like much – but it will knock your socks off (not to boast of my culinary skills 🙂

Leave a Reply

