Focusing

As I’ve mentioned, there is a lot of crazy sh*t going on in my life right now.  I’m not going to go into it here but changes are definitely in the horizon. It has nothing to do Jason and my relationship – we are good, our relationship has actually been the stable thing to get us through the last week (and no baby on the way 🙂

When I get really stressed out, I find it particularly hard to focus in a yoga class.  I went to a class this morning and actually left half way through.  It was at my gym – not my typical yoga studio and I had never taken a class at the gym (actually I’m kind of a yoga snob and typically don’t go to classes at gyms – I never find them too great) – the teacher was fine, but I just couldn’t let go of my stress and was really struggling. I have never left a class before but I just couldn’t do it.  Breathing and the quiet were not relaxing to me; my mind was racing and I couldn’t focus on the poses.  I quietly gathered my things and left the class.

I felt very bad leaving but at that moment staying in the class just felt like going through the motions.  Yoga is typically very calming to me, I love the yoga stoned feeling that comes over me after a class but today it just wasn’t happening.  Has this ever happened to you?  How do you deal with major stress?

Since yoga didn’t help with de-stressing me, I decided to take up baking!

First up – Toasted Almond, Chocolate Chip Cookies

This recipe is based off one from The Modern Vegetarian Kitchen

Toast 1 cup of raw almonds for 8 minutes at 350 degrees

Then grind the toasted almonds to a fine mill and add dry ingredients – 2 cups of flour, 1/4 teaspoon salt, a pinch of baking soda.

In a separate bowl – mix together wet ingredients: maple syrup, olive oil, and vanilla and almond extracts. Then combine wet and dry ingredients and once those are mixed together to form dough – add some chocolate chips.  Sorry I missed pictures of this part of the process.

Form small balls – about walnut sized on baking sheets.  Bake for about 15 – 17 minutes.

I’m feeling a bit better – but I think up next is a homemade apple pie!  Stay tuned.

How do you cope with major stress?  Does cooking help?

Leave a Reply

