As good as Apple Pie

My mission: Homemade Apple Pie

My mentor: Martha Stewart

After my failed attempt at yoga, I realized to process my stress an activity was needed that included music, food, and wine!  I waited till noon to begin – both the apple and drinking wine.

A few Christmas’ ago, my mom got me Martha Stewart’s Cooking School: Lessons and Recipes for the Home Cook.  I love this cookbook.  I sat down and read it cover to cover the first few days I had it.  It covers all the basics – cutting techniques, pairing spices, and traditional recipes.

I knew Martha would be a great guide on my request to make a homemade apple pie.

First up: dough

Process dry ingredients in food processor: flour, sugar, and salt

Add butter - pulse until coarse crumbles form

Add water and pulse until dough just holds together when pinched

Turn dough onto clean work surface – knead once or twice to incorporate loose pieces.  Divide dough in half.  Pat into a thick disk – and wrap each disk in plastic wrap.  Refrigerate for at least one hour.

PREPARE FILLING

While the dough chills – I put together the pie filling.

about 2 lbs of apples are needed - use a variety or just one kind - peel and core all the apples

Put sliced apples in large bowl - add sugar, a pinch of flour, lemon juice, cinnamon, ginger & salt

Mix the apples and rest of the ingredients well – let them sit in the fridge while the dough finishes chilling.

ROLL OUT THE DOUGH

After the dough has chilled (for at least an hour), Martha shares some helpful tips on rolling out the dough: make sure the room you are working in is cool, keep the dough cool but let it sit out for 10 minutes before rolling it out, make sure not to use too much flour – too much flour with toughen it.  I floured the work surface and the rolling-pin – and rolled out the dough. Now my dough does not look as pretty as the pictures in the cookbook.  The thickness of the rolled out dough should be 1/8″.

One disk of my dough rolled out.

ASSEMBLE THE PIE

After the two disks of dough are rolled out – it’s time to put together the dough.  Roll one section of the dough – around the rolling pin, and unroll it over a 9″ glass pie plate.  Press the dough to fit into the pan – if there are excess hanging off the pan just leave it there right now.  Next add the filling – and dot the filling with sections of butter (in total about 1/2 stick of butter).  Roll the remaining section of dough on top of the filling.

Next - trim excess dough to about 1", press edges of the dough into the pie plate, then make several slits in the top of the dough

After the pie is assembled, refrigerate it for 20 minutes.  While the pie is in the fridge, pre-heat the oven  to 400.

The recipe calls to whip together an egg yolk and cream to brush on top of the pie.  I didn’t have that so I brushed a bit of olive oil on the top pie crust and sprinkled a pinch of sugar on it.

I placed the pie on a baking sheet to catch any excess juice while cooking.  After 10 minutes, reduce the heat to 375.  Then cook for 70 – 85 minutes.   The top crust should be golden and the juices bubbling.

The recipe says to let the pie cool for at least 4 hours – well my hubby couldn’t wait.  So he tore into the pie after an hour – it was a bit watery/juicy – so I would suggest letting it cool for the full 4 hours.

Pretty successful first attempt.

Leave a Reply

