Adding Strength Training

I’m not quite ready to start a new training program for my next marathon (oh yes, there will be another), but I do want to start adding a few components to my weekly fitness routine to start preparing.  For my next marathon, I want to add strength training and speed running workouts to my program in addition to endurance running.

Strength Training for Runners

No matter what kind of runner you are – you can benefit from strength training.  Not only can strength training increase your running performance, it can also help prevent injuries.  Developing stronger muscles, tendons, ligaments, and bones will help minimize damage to tissue and muscle while training.  Regular strength training can help prevent shin splints, knee and hip problems, and stress fractures.  Most of the time when your knee hurts or outside of your hip hurts after beginning to run or increasing your mileage – it’s because your muscles aren’t strong enough.

While I was lucky to not sustain any injuries while training or running my last marathon, I know I can’t take that experience for granted.  In addition, I was only 19 minutes in my last marathon from qualifying for the Boston marathon. I already know some places in my race that I can shave off time – but I certainly am going to need to lower my average mile pace.  I plan to do that through effective training, and adding strength training and speed run workouts to my program.

I plan to take the next month to reorient myself with strength training and start some speed running workouts before jumping into a full-blown training program.

Day 1 – Shoulders/Chest/Triceps

I haven’t regularly lifted weights since highschool track so when I started to think about where to start I was a little lost. Jason lifts regularly but I really didn’t want to tag along for his workouts – I want to do a routine that makes sense for me.

Since I didn’t know where else to turn – I turned to Fitnessista.  I remember last summer Gina had a Summer Shape Up Plan.  So for the next few weeks I will base my strength workouts off of her plans (week 1).    Not only are her routines easy to follow – I love that she integrates cardio and weight lifting together.

Today – I warmed up with 10 minutes of basketball.

Then I did each strength move 10 reps for 3 sets.

Dumbbell lateral raise
Triceps extension machine
Running 5 minutes (I ran at a 7.5 pace)
Dumbbell chest fly (do this laying on a mat)
Dumbbell upright row
Running 5 minutes (I ran at a 7.5 pace)
Chest press machine
-Overhead shoulder press
-Push ups (3 sets of 10)

-Crunches (3 sets of 15)
– Boat Pose
– Boat Pose twisting to sides
-Running 10 minute cool down (I ran at a 6.5 pace)

My shoulders were shaking by the end. I could barely finish the pushups.  Yikes!  I’ll be sore tomorrow.

3 responses to “Adding Strength Training

  1. whoo hoo! glad you had an awesome workout 🙂

  2. Pingback: Building some muscle « Musings from Mendon Pond

Leave a Reply

