Building some muscle

So after my declaration to add some weight strength training to my workout schedule, I have come to the conclusion that I don’t like lifting weights.  To me – lifting weights seems unnatural, particularly in the spring, summer, and fall.  I want to be out in nature enjoying the lovely weather we have the opportunity to experience (I mean winter last 5 months here so I need to enjoy the sunshine as much as possible).  Maybe if I had a in home gym or weights I would feel different but for the time being weight lifting is not going to be a part of my life.

I don’t believe that lifting weights is the only way to build strength.  My at home weightless workout the other day left me feeling great and strong.  Kelly showed how you can build some major arm muscle with some at home pull ups and push ups – while she installed a pull up bar, it’s not needed. Just head to a park around the corner and use a bar on the jungle gym.  Find your inner childhood spirit and head outdoors to play or follow an outdoor fitness workout (like this one from Fitness Mag).

I plan to do a combination of running, yoga, and weightless workouts for the next month or so.  While I’m not ready to commit to a full marathon training plan (we still haven’t decided which race is next), I definitely need a set schedule to help keep me moving.  My day-to-day might vary depending if it’s raining or work gets crazy busy.

Also, I am not setting a running goal for the day or week.  Right now I just want to get outdoors and enjoy running whatever distance I choose and feel like for the day.  Yesterday I was able to knock out 8 miles in 1 hour 8 minutes.  It’s great to know I still have quite a bit of my endurance but I don’t want to feel guilty about not hitting a day’s totals right now.

I’m a visual person so I always print out a copy of my workout plan to have on my fridge.

What do you think of the plan?  Any suggestions? I recorded measurements last night and will do it at the end of May as well.  Just to see if I actually do add any muscle in the six weeks.

Leave a Reply

