Yoga to the People

Very interesting article in the New York Times this morning.  Essentially talking about folks who are yogis or practice yoga are resisting the big faces of yoga, the expensive yoga clothes, and the very expensive prices – to get back to the roots of yoga and opening it up to more people.

My favorite quote from the article: “I truly believe if more people were doing yoga, the world would be a better place,” he said.  So so true.

I certainly get caught up in the glamourizing of yoga at times – I love my Groove Lululemon pants, and I dream of going on a yoga retreat with Sean Corne or Baron Baptiste.  But it frustrates me that classes cost at minimum $15 per pop.  I feel self-conscious in some studios if I’m not rocking the right clothes (like when I roll out of bed and basically just put on whatever is closest to my bed).

What do you think about this?

Anyways I’m off.  Oh yeah- Carrie is giving away an Aurorae mat!

Leave a Reply

