30 days of Yoga

Ah the snow has stopped and is finally starting to melt.  By Saturday the temperature will be 72.  What’s up climate change?

Yoga

I have this weird relationship with yoga.  I love it but I really have to work myself up to do it – and mostly that means going to studios, and I never do it as often as I would like.  Yoga to me is one of the ultimate ways to become comfortable with your body, embrace how your body moves, and pushing your body to its limits.  For most of my life, I have struggled accepting my body.  I have always struggled accepting my “curves” and extra flesh.  I may be small but it doesn’t mean that I don’t have cellulite or wish that I could drop 5 lbs or had more defined abs.  I still struggle with these feelings today.  The one place where I leave all of that at the door is while doing yoga – which then helps center me for the rest of the day.

For the month of May – actually starting today – I am going to do yoga each day.  My goal is to do at least 20 minutes of yoga today.  For me this is a month of health both body and mind.  I’ll keep up my running (1/2 marathon in one week) but my focus will be appreciating the awesomeness of my body.

As Jennifer Hudson said: “It makes me love myself that much more.”

Do you have any favorite at home yoga dvds or pod-casts? Anyone interested in joining a 30 day Yoga Happiness Challenge?

3 responses to “30 days of Yoga

  1. Good luck on your challenge! I feel the same way about yoga and my body–it is so funny to have an internal struggle about going to classes, even though, without fail, I feel amazing afterwards.

    I have not found a great at home DVD–mainly because I have a hard time with home practice in general. I will be interested to see if others have suggestions!

    Looking forward to reading more.
    theopeningyear.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

