A Little Sweet and A Little Tart

Today I deviated from yoga – I couldn’t work myself up to go to a class and honestly I just really wasn’t feeling it.  So instead I got home from work, walked the dog, and popped in Physique 57’s Classic 57 Minute Workout dvd.  I bought the three pack of dvds mid-marathon training in hopes of introducing some cross-training.  That never happened and today seemed like the perfect opportunity to try it on.

I have been looking forward to trying Physique 57’s workout since Kelly Ripa began to croon all over the media about the workout.  While I certainly understand that this is probably not how she appears in real life – who wouldn’t want to work towards those arms or abs?

According to the website “Physique 57™ is a focused and proven cardiovascular program of isometric exercises and orthopedic stretches. Physique 57™ tones your seat, abdominals, thighs and arms; strengthens your legs and back; and improves posture to produce a beautiful, sexy body. Our interval training sets use your own body weight for resistance, and through dynamic exercises your muscles are targeted and overloaded to the point of fatigue, then stretched for relief. We call our process Interval Overload – overloading the muscle to create long, lean sexy muscles.”

From my research, I knew this was the kind of video I would want to do in the privacy of my home when Jason was out.  Here is sampling of the workout that Kelly showcased on her morning show and taught to Anderson Cooper – (aren’t they the cutest?)

Seriously – thigh dancing?  It was not something I wanted others to witness.

First – the workout.  I was really impressed with the intensity of the workout.  My legs and arms were shaking at times.  While I had to psych myself up for a few of the moves (i.e. the aforementioned thigh dancing), overall I thought the video went by quickly and kept me engaged the whole time.

Tanya, the instructor, got on my nerves a bit.  She was a little too over the top for me.  Some people probably will appreciate her enthusiasm and jokes.  I think after a few more times though, I should be able to lower the volume and put on my own music to drown her out a bit.  I’m sure she is a perfectly lovely person but she isn’t the kind of trainer or instructor I respond well to.

I’ll definitely doing the workout again.

Another thing that was a little sweet and a little tart….

Rhubarb Bread

The concept of this recipe came from How It All Vegan – but then I adopted it to my needs.  I sadly missed photographing the preparation process.  I mixed flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and a tbsp of ginger in one bowl.  Then I added an egg replacement (or you could use an egg), brown sugar, 1/2 cup of canola oil, orange juice, 2 cups of rhubarb, and 3/4 cup of sunflower seeds – I finally chopped both the rhubarb and sunflower seeds prior to adding to the mixture.  I folded the mixture together until it was “just mixed.”  Then baked it in a bread pan (oiled) at 350 degree for 45 minutes.  I started checking it around 35 minutes with a toothpick but it didn’t come out clean until the 45 mark.

My sous-chef obviously was very engaged in the cooking.

One response to “A Little Sweet and A Little Tart

  1. the video was very interesting to watch

Leave a Reply

