Eating a Full Lunch

A few days ago, I mentioned my struggle to eat a fulfilling lunch and how that was effecting my hunger for the rest of the day.  Again I am going to preface this with the statement that I don’t count calories and I don’t really feel the need to calculate my daily food intake, however, I do find analyzing my eating a different points of the year helps me understand what might be going on with my body.  I have really been focusing on eating a nutritionally dense salad or sandwich for lunch each day this week.  One key – I have discovered is making some grains and throwing those on a salad along with some olive oil and vinegar (or some other kind of nutritious dressing).

Today I made a spinach, tomato, broccoli, and green pepper salad (about 150 calories, 1 gram of fat, 8 grams of fiber, and 9 grams of protein), then added millet from my grain-off the other evening (another 155 calories and 1.5 grams of fat), and then topped it off with an olive oil – apple cider vinegar dressing (adding another 180 calories and 20 grams of fat).  My lunch nutritional total was: 450 calories, 22 grams of fat, 11 grams of fiber, and 13 grams of protein.   This lunch kept me full for 3 hours.

Sorry the salad was about 3/4 ate when I remembered to take a picture.  The millet was an excellent addition to the salad.  I crumbled about 3/4 a cup of it on top of the salad and it provided a great texture to the salad as well staying power.

If you want to find out more ways to beef up your lunchtime, Gena did a great post yesterday on making a lunchtime salad meal.

Today I’m not planning any exercise – resting for tomorrow’s 1/2 marathon.  The weather is not looking so good which means it is a possibility that I won’t run it. Rain = Unhappy Kristina.

Leave a Reply

