Cashew and Sunflower Seed Maple Cinnamon Butter

My home internet is out for the next two weeks so my posting is going to be a bit sporadic.  The weather in VT was amazing this weekend.  Jason and I went hiking Sunday in Woodstock at the Marsh-Billings-Rockefeller National Park (and our second stamp in our national park’s book).  It’s a gorgeous park with easy hiking trails – definitely a great way to spend a few hours if you are ever in Southern VT.

I also spent some time on Sunday preparing my food for the week ahead.  I tend to use Sunday nights to prepare some essentials for the week – like cleaning greens, chopping or shredding veggies for salads, and making nut butter.  I found a super simple recipe a few months ago and now make nut butters at home instead of paying $$$ for less than stellar products at a store.

Pretty much this recipe can be altered for any kind of nuts (I’ve made almond butter and walnut butter).  Just have some patience when making the butter – timing depends on the type of nut you use.

Be warned – this concoction is amazing!  I can’t stop eating it.

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cup of sunflower seeds
  • 3/4 cup of cashews
  • 1/2 tsp of honey
  • 1/2 tsp of maple syrup
  • a dash of salt

Start with nuts and seeds in food processor

About 90 seconds after beginning to process

It will look like this around 3 minutes

At 4 - 5 minutes it will look like this

At 6 minutes in

Around 8 minutes it starts to redistribute but keep going until the oils release

At 10 minutes the nuts release their oils, and the nut butter is ready. if you want to add the honey and maple syrup stir in by hand now.

Leave a comment